TinTin++ users?

Discussion of MUD clients, plugins, the website, and other technical stuff.
Dennis1

TinTin++ users?

Post by Dennis1 »

Hi all,

I recently adopted TinTin++ and I was wondering if you all had any resources or suggestions for a complete newbie to TinTin++

Best,

Dennis
Rias
DEV

Re: TinTin++ users?

Post by Rias »

Per the standard, use semicolon for command stacking.

I have the following in a file I read when I start tt++ (`#read tt_config`)

Code: Select all

#ACTION {%*, "%*$}
{
        #line log {chatlog_$char}
}
{5}

#ACTION {%*[#%*$}
{
}
{5}

#ACTION {%*[ESP-%*$}
{
}
{5}

#ACTION {%*[FROM%*$}
{
}
{5}

#ACTION {%*[TO%*$}
{
}
{5}

#ALIAS {exiles}
{
        #session exiles exiles.contrarium.net 4001;
        #split;
        #variable char exiles_rias
}
{5}
Most of that is to log speech, chat channels, tells, and ESP to the chatlog_<char> file. You can use `#var <name>` to change which chatlog file it goes to, if you have any desire to do so. So when logging in as Bob, do `#var char bob` and when logging in as Sally do `#var char sally` to keep their chatlog files separate.

The last thing in the above is just a convenient alias to connect to the game, do a `#split`, and set a default value for my chatlog filenames.
The `#split` makes it so you have a static command input bar at the bottom, which is nice. I've played with having the status prompt go down there, but it's always been a little too finicky for me to be happy with.

To view the chatlog while playing, I use a multiplexer (I like tmux, though standard gnu screen works as well) to split the terminal into two panes, with the chatlog in the top pane and tt++ in the bottom one. In the top pane I do `less -R chatlog_exiles_rias` to view the chatlog file (-R applies the ANSI colors instead of showing the ANSI codes), then hit shift-F to have less constantly monitor for new data and update as it comes in.